Support Act has announced changes to its Board following its Annual General Meeting, with current Chair, Sally Howland, stepping down after 24 years with the music charity. 

She will be replaced by current Co-Deputy Chairs Lynne Small and David Albert, who will become Co-Chairs.

Lynne Small has acted as Company Secretary and Treasurer of Support Act since 1998, and Director since 2013. She also chairs the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee. She is the COO of ARIA and PPCA, and is a Director of the Australian Copyright Council.

David Albert is the CEO of Alberts and has previously been the Co-Chair of Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy Australia and served on the boards of APRA, AMCOS and AMPAL. He joined Support Act in 2019 and is also on the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

Sebastian Chase has also stepped down as a Director of the Board after seven years, while Jonathan Carter has joined the Board as the APRA representative, having been an Observer to the Board for the past 12 months.

Sally Howland explains: “I have enjoyed my time enormously at Support Act. I’ve had the opportunity to work with wonderful people for a singular and united goal. All the while, whilst helping others who need it.

“I’m hopeful for meaningful cultural change across the industry and am optimistic that a more equitable, fairer and just working conditions will be the norm.”

Clive Miller, CEO of Support Act, adds: “It’s a big day of change at Support Act and although we are greatly saddened that both Sally and Sebastian are leaving the Board, we look forward to working with Lynne, David and Jonathan in their new positions. 

“Sally and Sebastian’s commitment to our cause has been unparalleled over the years, and we will be forever grateful. We wish them all the best for the future.”

For further information about Support Act and its board, visit the About page at